No: MFA/PR/2019/13


           The Ministry of Foreign Affairs wishes to inform that, Members of the African Union Peace and Security Council (AU-PSC) arrived Juba, for a 3-day Field Mission to the Republic of South Sudan on Tuesday 5th March, 2019. Her Excellency, Ambassador Catherine Muigai Mwangi of the Republic of Kenya and the Chairperson of the AU-PSC for the month of March 2019 led the delegation. Nigeria is represented by Ambassador Bankole Adeoye, the Nigerian Ambassador to the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and Permanent Representative to the African Union and the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA).

  1. The visit of the Mission is a firm demonstration of the renewed support and solidarity of the African Union with the people of South Sudan towards the overall peace process in that country.

3.​     It is pertinent to recall that the AU-PSC last visited the Republic of South Sudan in April, 2018 under the Chairmanship of Nigeria when the august body requested the South Sudanese parties to take seriously the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) led High Level Revitalization Forum (HLRF) negotiation processes. Indeed, the parties responded positively and committed to the peace process leading to the signing on the 12th of September, 2018 of the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (R-ARCSS). This Revitalized Agreement stipulates an eight-month pre-transitional period to be followed by a transitional period of 36 months, with elections to take place 60 days before the end of the transitional period.

4.​     While in Juba, the AU-PSC will engender the required credibility and legitimacy to the Revitalized Agreement and galvanize the needed international support and stronger partnership for the implementation of the Revitalized Agreement. During the Mission, the PSC will also be forward in exerting more pressure on the parties towards the achievement of two major benchmarks during the pre-transitional period which include the establishment of the revised transitional security arrangements and the formation of the revitalized transitional government of national unity. It will also underscore the need for urgent compromises by the parties to achieve these goals.

5.​     The Federal Republic of Nigeria is also a Member of the African Union High Level Ad hoc Committee of Five on South Sudan (C5) and remains committed towards supporting the sustained efforts of the broader AU membership in accompanying South Sudan, the youngest member of the African family through the pathway of peace.



George Ehidiamen Edokpa


Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Abuja

Wednesday, 6 March, 2019